Jelly, gelatine, jello, konnyaku, agar-agar

So, do you know the difference between all the above? Lemme give you a short brief on them.

Jelly or jello comes from gelatin. – Gelatin comes from the skin of cows and ewwws sometimes, pigs too? So, we don’t normally find them in our local supermarket shelves. What we get nowadays are mostly a konnyaku based jello. This is how Wiki explains gelatin – Gelatin (also gelatine, from French gélatine) is a translucent, colorless, brittle, nearly tasteless solid substance, extracted from the collagen inside animals’ connective tissue.

rose syrup jello

Konnyaku : As explained by Wiki – Konjac is grown in China, Japan and Korea for its large starchy corm, used to create a flour and jelly of the same name. It is also used as a vegan substitute for gelatin.

ribena flavoured jello

Agar-agar : Is those strips of colourless stuffs we find in sundry shops and supermarkets. These are seaweeds. Nowadays, they have made it easy to cook agar-agar because these are processed to powdered form.

Now, in terms of ‘doink-iness’, i.e. how jelly-ish these stuffs above are, the jelly rated as the most jelly-like, with the konnyaku having a firmer but as doink-y. Meanwhile, agar-agar lacks the jelly like texture but tastes better.

cutest ever jellies

If you are new to cooking them, always buy something that has clear instructions. Find those without flavour and if you like add rock sugar instead of normal sugar. It tastes better. Then, you can let your imagination runs wild and flavour or colour those jelly. I did mine with rose syrup and also Ribena.

Just for fun, I use ice-cube makers in heart and cross shapes. If you don’t have the mould, just use any small bowl to make them.

Post Author: Lilian

Food, travel, recipes. Chinese Malaysian, blogger, photographer and writer.